2014 Youghal U11 Football County League East Region Final


Youghal 8-04  V  Blarney 4-06

Youghal U11 victorious in Football County League East Region Final


On Friday 12th September 2014, a big Youghal crowd travelled to Ballinora to support the Youghal U11 football team in gaining their first county title and after an epic display, I have no doubt that this is the first of many county titles to come for this talented team. The Youghal boys were confident going into the final as they have been unbeaten in football all year. Youghal proved too strong for Blarney on the night and Captain Fionn Gardiner proudly accepted the shield on behalf of his team-mates.

Blarney got off to a dream start securing two early goals and leaving Youghal in unknown territory but in fairness to these lads, they dug deep and the skill and hard work that got them to the final began to shine once again. Micheal Breathnach scored the first goal for Youghal and settled the team while Rory Fitzgerald, Conor Savage, Oisin Hill and Morgan Twohig working hard in the back line and tighten up the defence. It was great to see Enda Cronin and Kyle Joyce put in a tremendous performance up front and contributed to the 4 goals scored by Josh Persaud. Youghal went in on top at the half time whistle with score 3-1 to 2-2.

They still had a fierce battle on their hands as Blarney were constantly attacking and making runs at goal. Cúlann Geary and Sean O Riordan proved too strong for the Blarney centre fielders and when Devon Donoghue and Aidan Perry moved into the Youghal forward line, the Youghal boys attack worked even harder and pulled away to gain a comfortable lead. Thanks to Wisdom Sobo for holding strong on the goal line as he pulled off some incredible saves, which Pat Mackey in his day would have been proud of. Youghal brought of fresh legs with the introduction of Conor McArdle, David Murphy, Eoin McGrath, Sean Hehir, Christopher Brophy and Eoin Sheridan, and every player that played one the night gave it their all and did Youghal proud. Thanks also to Seamus Ó Maitiú, Conor Butler-Roche, Nathan Daly, Panos Karousos and Declan Daly whose hard work and performance all year contributed to Youghal reaching the final.

The future of Youghal football is bright and there is no doubt that with the continued guidance of Alan Geary, Alan Fox and Pat Mackey this team will continue winning titles in both football and hurling.

Finally a big thank you to Fergal & Catherine Keenaghan and Hill Construction who sponsored the post match meal for the victorious U11 panel at the clubhouse afterwards.

U11 panel: Wisdom Sobo, Fionn Gardiner, Oisin Hill, Morgan Twohig, Conor Savage, Rory Fitzgerald, Cúlann Geary, Devon O Donoghue, Micheál Breathnach, Enda Cronin, Josh Persaud, Sean O Riordan, Kyle Joyce. Subs: Aidan Perry, Sean Hehir, Conor McArdle, David Murphy, Eoin McGrath, Eoin Sheridan, Christopher Brophy, Nathan Daly, Conor Butler-Roche, Panos Karousos (Injured), with Séamus Ó Maitiú & Declan Daly (unavailable).

Club Lotto